” Because we cannot scrub our inner body we need to learn a few skills to help cleanse our tissues, organs and mind. This is the Art of Ayurveda. “ ~ Sebastian Pole

As we search how to mainatin healthy living for our modern living, Ayurveda would have to come right on the top of the list. Once you really start understanding the concept of Ayurveda, it will all start to make sense.

Ayurveda “The Science of Life”

Ayurveda is around 5,000 year old system. It is the oldest continually practiced health system in the world. It is an ancient philosophy based on a deep understanding of eternal truths and believe that health and wellness depens on a balance between the human body, mind and spirit.

Ayurveda is much more than a system of medicine; it embraces medical science, philosophy, psychology, alchemy and spiritual understanding as well as astrology and astronomy. The tools includes lifestyle guidance, herbal medicine, biorhythms, nutrition, detoxification, theraputic bodywork to address the root causes of disease. And, other body work including spiritual practices.

At the heart of Ayurveda lies the understanding that Everything is One. Meaning; that everything exists in relation, not in isolation. Body effect mind, and vice versa. Feelings and thoughts have physical effect, just as disorders of the body affects out psychological state.

The Five Elements 

Everything in universe is made up of all living things and energy, and this energy exists in combination of five different elements: space – also called “ether”, air, fire, water and earth. The elements create 3 compounds – three energetic forces of nature – that helps us with specific functions and energies in our body; movement, transformation, and cohesion.

Three Energetic Forces of Nature

In Ayurveda, each individual is unique and what works for one in diet and lifestyle, does not work for all. Prevention is key and, food and lifestyle are the most important parts to achieve health and longevity. Ayurveda is based on principle of unique Three Energetic Forces called ‘Doshas’ – biological energies which make up each individual.

Doshas are functional principles which allows us to better understand ourselves and, the world around us. All three doshas are essentail to our physiology in some way so there is no one to be better than other or, superior to. Each of them are equally important and, when doshas are out of balance, they can cause a problem on our health and well-being.

In order to keep our doshas working in harmony, we need to first and most of all understand about all three of them and, establish our own Dosha.

The 3 Doshas – Functional Friends are: Vata, Pitta and Kapha

Vata Dosha

  • Vata – combines of ether and air. Vata means ‘wind’. It is the energizing force for everything in body and mind. It is the energy of movement – associates with motion, circulation, breathing, blinking of the eyes, movement of air in and out of the lungs, your heartbeat

Pitta Dosha

  • Pitta is a combination of the elements of fire and water. It is the energy of transformation – digestion or cooking, absorbtion, nutrition, your body temperature

Kapha Dosha

  • Kapha is combination of earth and water, the principle of energy, protection and, structure. Kapha is responsible for lubrication, nourishment of the body – controls growth in the body, moisturizes the skin, manitains immune system

Stay tuned for more on The Three Doshas – Constitutions. Come back here to read more about your Dosha type and, how Ayurveda can improve your health.

” The more you let Ayurveda and Yoga become the basis for your living, the easier living gets. ” ~ Myra Lewin